I am (not) the woman

I am not the woman that inspires sonnets or epic love songs
I am not the muse of artists that paint and sculpt
beautiful works of art for all to revel in
I am not the woman that is the object of deep affection
in the literary masterpieces that have yet to be completed
I am not the woman that arouses the love of another to be bestowed
Upon me

I am the woman that stirs up the internal rage of others
that they release Upon me like an unforeseen storm
I am the woman that inspires the need to give abuse-
emotional, psychological, physical, sexual
heaped upon me until i break
and i am left with nothing, but
my own self-abuse
I am the woman that arouses the literary prowess for hate mail
and sexual harassment
I am the girl that was planned, and yet, still
Unwanted
I am the woman that brings the wanderlust out in those
who walk through my doors
only to exit and never return

I am the woman left with self-doubt and
shame and
anger for them,
but
blame for myself
for not being the woman
that is
Loved

Leave a Reply

